Dave Douglas - Spirit Moves + Spark Of Being

Spark Of Being

On April 24th, 2010, Dave Douglas and experimental filmmaker Bill Morrison unveiled their multimedia collaboration, Spark Of Being, at Stanford University. On film, it stands as a reinterpretation of that Frankenstein myth using new, archival, and distressed footage. The themes, penned by Douglas for his Grammy-nominated band Keystone, integrate electronics seamlessly into the improvised music, piecing sounds and movement together to make three strikingly different Creatures.

Part 1: SOUNDTRACK (out June 22nd)
Part 2: EXPAND (out August 24th)
Part 3: BURST (out September 21st)

Spirit Moves

Spirit Moves features Douglas alongside Vincent Chancey (French horn), Luis Bonilla (trombone), Marcus Rojas (tuba) and Nasheet Waits (drums) paying homage to the brass instrument with eight new original compositions and three arrangements of classics by such disparate artists as Otis Redding, Hank Williams and Rufus Wainwright. Over the past several years, Douglas has steadily honed his work with Brass Ecstasy with appearances at the 2008 Chicago Jazz Festival, which commissioned new music from the group, Willisau Festival, Reggio Calabria Jazz Festival, and The Festival of New Trumpet Music. Informed by the evolving spirit of brass music and by his multi-faceted career as the director of The Festival of New Trumpet Music, label head of Greenleaf Music, a renowned composer, artist, and record producer, Douglas pens an ambitious collection of lyrical songs with impressions of folk, pop and soul music.

Tracklist :

1. This Love Affair 3:25
2. Orujo 3:38
3. The View From Blue Mountain 4:53
4. Twilight of the Dogs 4:06
5. Bowie 6:27
6. Rava 5:36
7. Fats 3:48
8. The Brass Ring 7:56
9. Mister Pitiful 3:05
10. Great Awakening 6:00
11. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry 4:18
12. Prayer for Baghdad (Subscriber Bonus)
13. Hope (Subscriber Bonus)