Ian Hunter ( Mott TheHoople ) - Man Overboard

Legendary Mott the Hoople front man and renowned solo artist, Ian Hunter, has signed to New West Records. Man Overboard, due July 21st, is Mr. Hunter’s anticipated follow up to his critically acclaimed solo album, 2007’s Shrunken Heads (his first release after a 6 year gap).

With Mott the Hoople, Ian Hunter quickly established himself as an incredibly inventive songwriter with his gritty and thought provoking songs which paved the way for the original wave of punk rock. The 1972 David Bowie produced breakthrough album All The Young Dudes catapulted the band into the British Top 10 and the American Top 40. Additionally, the band was the first act to ever sell out a week of Broadway concerts in New York City. Ian Hunter’s autobiography, Diary Of A Rock and Roll Star, written during the band’s 1972 US Tour and published in 1974, was also acclaimed by Q Magazine as “the greatest music book ever written.” The original Mott The Hoople lineup of Ian Hunter, Mick Ralphs, Verden Allen, Dale Griffin and Overend Watts have announced five 40th anniversary reunion shows at the HMV Hammersmith Apollo in London on October 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 5th and 6th.

As a solo artist, Mr. Hunter has been responsible for instantly recognizable classics as “Once Bitten, Twice Shy,” “Cleveland Rocks” (which went on to be the theme song for ABC’s hit series The Drew Carey Show), and many, many more. Both Ian Hunter and Mott the Hoople have been cited as major inspirations for numerous artists including The Clash, Kiss, R.E.M., Oasis, Jeff Tweedy of Wilco, Motley Crue, Blur and Primal Scream among others. Hunter’s influence on modern rock and roll music has been immeasurable, with over 150 different cover versions of his songs.

Man Overboard is Ian Hunter’s 13th solo album since his eponymous debut in 1975. Recorded in late 2008 in Pawling, NY, the 11-song set is a stunning follow up to the overwhelmingly critically acclaimed Shrunken Heads album. Man Overboard was produced by Andy York (veteran guitarist for John Mellencamp) and Ian Hunter and features a backing band of superstar talent comprised of Steve Holley on drums and percussion (Wings, Joe Cocker), Paul Page on bass (Dion), Jack Petruzzelli on electric guitar (Rufus Wainwright, Joan Osbourne), James Mastro on electric guitar (Patti Smith, John Cale), Andy Burton on piano and organ (The Db’s) and Producer Andy York on guitar and backing vocals. Many of the band members are returning from the Shrunken Heads sessions. Regarding Man Overboard, Ian Hunter stated, “When we did Shrunken Heads, I felt like we had a good thing going so I wanted to revisit the experience before anything changed, and that’s what we did.”

Ian Hunter has worked with many musical legends such as the members of Queen, David Bowie, Mick Jones of The Clash, Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band, Mick Ronson and Ringo Starr’s All Star Band.