Discografia di Patricia Barber


Barber's first live recording. This one followed a couple of years of touring with the quartet featured. This band was receiving rave reviews wherever it appeared and this record, a "companion" piece to modern cool, captures the band's infectious live vibe. Highlights include Barber's groovy version of Sonny & Cher's "The Beat Goes On" and her outspoken statement on the jazz scene, "If This Isn't Jazz?"

Patricia Barber, piano, vocal, Hammond B-3;
Michael Arnopol, bass;
John McLean, guitar;
Eric Montzka, drums/percussion;
Ruben P. Alvarez, percussion;
Jason Narducy, guest vocal (5).

Tracks :

1. The Beat Goes On
2. Use Me
3. Like JT
4. Let It Rain
5. Touch Of Trash
6. If This Isn't Jazz
7. Black Magic Woman


If Nightclub was a left turn, and it was, so too was Verse as Barber followed an all-standards album with her first all-originals album. This one was named #1 Jazz Recording of 2002 by the Los Angeles Times. It contains some of the most refined Barber compositions on record to date including the haunting "Clues," the sultry "I Could Eat Your Words" and the beautiful and poetic "If I Were Blue." A great band too including Dave Douglas on trumpet and Joey Baron on drums.

Patricia Barber, piano, vocals, fender Rhodes;
Michael Arnopol, bass;
Neal Alger, guitars;
Dave Douglas, trumpet;
Joey Baron, drums (1-8); and
Eric Montzka, drums (9).


The Moon
2. Lost In This Love
3. Clues
4. Pieces
5. I Could Eat Your Words
6. The Fire
7. Regular Pleasures
8. Dansons La Gigue
9. You Gotta Go Home
10. If I Were Blue


This record, a collection of jazz standards made partly at the request of her mother, was planned by Barber for over ten years but held. "It was important to me that I try and establish my own sound, my own music, before I did a record of standards. With 'modern cool' I felt I had done that," says Barber. Nightclub benefits from the long incubation period. Barber is a seasoned performer of classic jazz material. Highlights include her stunning version of "Yesterdays," the rarely recorded vocal version of "Invitation" and her version of Alfie, which features guitarist Charlie Hunter.

Musicians: Patricia Barber, piano, vocal;
Michael Arnopol, bass (5, 9, 10);
Adam Cruz, drums (4, 5, 6, 8, 9);
Charlie Hunter, 8-string guitar (4, 6, 11);
Marc Johnson, bass (1, 2, 3, 7, 8);
Adam Nussbaum, drums (1, 2, 3, 7, 8).


1. Bye Bye Blackbird
2. Invitation [Standards]
3. Yesterdays
4. Just For A Thrill
5. You Don't Know Me
6. Alfie
7. Autumn Leaves
8. Summer Samba
9. All Or Nothing At All
10. So In Love
11. A Man & A Woman
12. I Fall In Love Too Easily


Barber's first for Premonition, this one introduced her powerful quartet of the time featuring John McLean on guitar and Mark Walker on drums. This might be the classic Barber album in that it blends pop covers, jazz standards, and original material in a thoroughly unique and interesting way. That was not the norm in 1994 as it would be years later. This one also features Barber's first attempt at setting poetry to music with "Mourning Grace," a haunting Maya Angelou work.

Patricia Barber, piano, vocal;
Michael Arnopol, bass;
John McLean, guitars;
Mark Walker, drums, percussion, body parts.


1. What A Shame
2. Mourning Grace
3. The Thrill Is Gone
4. Romanesque
5. Yellow Car ]]]
6. Wood Is A Pleasant Thing To Think About
7. Inch Worm
8. Ode To Billy Joe
9. Too Rich For My Blood
10. A Taste Of Honey
11. Nardis
12. Manha de Carnaval


This one earned 5 stars in DownBeat. Say no more. Another strong, blending of material as on cafe blue but heavier on the originals. Features the same band as on cafe blue with the addition of trumpet star Dave Douglas. Highlights include Barber's originals "Touch of Trash," "Company," and "Winter," her version of The Doors "Light My Fire" and her setting of an e.e. cummings poem.

Musicians: 3
Patricia Barber, vocal, piano, table knives on strings;
Michael Arnopol, bass;
John McLean, guitars;
Mark Walker, drums, percussion, body parts;
Jeff Stitely, udu;
Dave Douglas, trumpet;
Choral Thunder Vocal Choir.


1. Touch Of Trash
2. Winter
3. You & The Night & The Music
4. Constantinople
5. Light My Fire
6. Silent Partner
7. Company
8. Let It Rain
9. She's A Lady
10. Love, put on your faces
11. Postmodern Blues
12. Let It Rain (Vamp)